Musical Director, John Winkelman

The conductor of the Hillcrest Wind Ensemble is John Winkelman. His musical background includes conducting as well as an extensive performance background on tuba. His musical career covers over 25 years of performance, conducting and composition.

A native of St. Paul, Minnesota, John began music studies at an early age eventually leading him to study composition with John Zdechlik, conducting with Robert Hallquist and music performance with Ross Tolbert of the Minnesota Orchestra. His original compositions and arrangements for brass are published with Solid Brass Music.

In San Diego, John has performed in the UCSD Wind Ensemble, Mesa College Band, San Diego Concert Band, La Jolla Symphony, San Diego Mens's Chorus, Tifereth Israel Community Orchestra, the Tuba Fours (a tuba quartet), Pomerado Brass Quintet, Heliotrope Ragtime Orchestra and other ensembles.

John’s initial conducting experience began in St. Paul as musical director for Glass Theater. He also served as assistant director with Chimera Theater, at the St. Paul Arts and Science Center and has performed for Dudley Rigg's Brave New Workshop, Theatre de la Jeune Lune, St. Pauls JCC Orchestra, Nicollet Brass Quintet, Twin Cities Gay Men's Chorus and more. In San Diego John directed San Diego’s Finest City Freedom Band from 1991 to 1992 and the Hillcrest Wind Ensemble from 1993 to 2000, and again in 2003 to the present.

Steering Committee

The Hillcrest Wind Ensemble's Steering Committee consists of members of the group who are willing to put in the extra time and effort to organize our concerts, manage our finances and do general administrative tasks that all non-profit organization have to worry about.

Steering Committee

Joe Atkins, John Barrett, August Konrad, Monte Ochoa, Gary Poirier

Treasurer: Gary Poirier
Concert Producers: Gary Poirier, John Winkelman
Ticket Sales: Gary Poirier
Script: Eddie Blough
Volunteer Coordinator: Eddie Blough
Recording: Keith Schooler, Oscar Green
Music Librarians: Eddie Blough, John Barrett
Website Manager: Mel Lions

In Memoriam

Gary Chong
John Clark
Queen Eddie Conlon
John Donarum
James Hageter
Blake Henry
Rob Howarth
Kevin Jordan-Coates
Herb King
"Doc" Moffett
Benjamin E. Moore
David O'Reilly
Kathy Rotzinger
Edward L. Tiedman
Dennis Torza